Apiary Mission and Methods

The Apiary Division protects honeybees in order to maintain viable honeybee populations for the purpose of pollination in Arkansas. Most recently there were a total of 2,582 active registered apiarists in the state with 41,974 registered apiaries. A total of 7,434 colonies were visited last fiscal year. 


  1. By equitably administering laws and regulations in order to minimize and slow the spread and negative effects of diseases, harmful pests and unwanted species. 
  2. By educating beekeepers in modern apicultural techniques and the citizens of Arkansas of the importance of honeybees. 

Arkansas Apiary Registration Process

Africanized Honey Bees

The introduction of the Africanized bee into Arkansas has been closely monitored by the placement of traps along the Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana borders. 57 traps are currently in Arkansas. Swarm traps are placed in trap lines along the Oklahoma and Louisiana borders, along Africanized Honey Bee (AHB) counties in Arkansas, and in strategic locations. There have been about twenty positive locations verified in Arkansas since 2005. Counties with positive finds include: Miller, Lafayette, Clark, Columbia, Bradley, Nevada, Faulkner, Baxter, Howard and Union counties.