Department of Agriculture

Supporting Arkansas farmers and ranchers while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of Arkansas, the nation, and across the globe

Arkansas State Plant Board


The mission of the Arkansas State Plant Board is to protect and serve the citizens of Arkansas and the agricultural and business communities by providing information and unbiased enforcement of laws and regulations thus ensuring quality products and services. The Plant Industries Division administers the rules promulgated by the Arkansas State Plant Board.

The Arkansas State Plant Board has nine committees: Boll Weevil Committee; Bureau of Standards Committee; Feeds, Fertilizer, and Lime Committee; Industrial Hemp Committee; Nursery and Plants Committee; Pest Control Committee; Pesticide Committee; Public Grain Warehouse/Seeds Committee; and Regulatory Services Committee.

Act 135 of the 2023 legislative session revised the membership categories of the State Plant Board’s 19 members as outlined below. Seventeen members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, and two non-voting members are designated by the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture Vice President. Members serve five-year terms. The 17 members appointed by the Governor are to include:

  • One cotton grower representative
  • One agricultural fertilizer industry representative
  • One rice grower representative
  • One horticulturist, nurseryman, ornamental production, or lawn care industries representative
  • One corn, peanut, sorghum, turf, or wheat grower representative
  • One soybean grower representative
  • One licensed pest control operator
  • One seed dealer representative
  • One seed grower representative
  • One retail or wholesale fuel industry representative
  • One agricultural pesticide industry representative
  • One agricultural aviation industry representative
  • One timber and forest products sector representative
  • Two corn, cotton, peanuts, rice, sorghum, soybeans, turf, or wheat producer representatives
  • One livestock producer representative
  • One forage grower representative

Board Members

Bruce AlfordLewisvilleForage Industry2023
David GammillTyronzaCorn, Peanut, Sorghum, Turf, or Wheat Grower2023
Ken KorthFayettevilleUniversity of Arkansas, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Matthew MarshLittle RockRice Grower2023
Reynold MeyerEudoraLivestock Industry2023
Matthew MilesMcGeheeSoybean Grower2023
Nathan ReedMariannaFarmer2023
Travis SenterOsceolaFarmer2023
Nathan SlatonFayettevilleUniversity of Arkansas, Agriculture Experiment Station
Sam StuckeyClarkedaleCotton Grower2024
Sammy AngelLake VillageSeed Grower2028
Kyle BaltzPocahontasFertilizer2028
Jon BierbaumLake VillageTimber and Forest Products2028
George DunklinHumphreyPesticide Industry2028
Garrett FrostMariannaAgricultural Aviation2028
Robin RalstonAtkinsRetail or Wholesale Fuel2028
Robert ThorneMarionHorticulture2028
Davis WallaceCrawfordsvilleSeed Dealer2028
VACANTPest Control

Previous Meeting Information - Arkansas State Plant Board

2024 Meetings



2023 Meetings



Previous Committee Meetings

Boll Weevil Committee

2024 Meetings


Bureau of Standards Committee

2024 Meetings



2023 Meetings


Feeds, Fertilizer, and Lime Committee

Industrial Hemp Committee

Nursery and Plants Committee

Pest Control Committee

2024 Meetings



2023 Meetings


Pesticide Committee

2024 Meetings


2023 Meetings


Public Grain Warehouse/Seeds Committee

Regulatory Services Committee