Who is required to have a grain dealer license under the Grain Dealer Law?
A: Anyone who is buying grain in Arkansas and is not a licensed state Grain Warehouse, a licensed federal Grain Warehouse or end user of grain.
Who do I contact to answer my questions about the Grain Dealer Law?
A: Call the Arkansas State Plant Board at: 501-225-1598, and ask for the Grain Warehouse and Catfish Processor Section.
Q: Will this license require a financial statement to accompany my application?
A: Yes, and it must be prepared by a CPA or RPA. See Section III of the Grain Dealer Regulations for more details on financial statements.
How many times per year will I be audited by the State Plant Board?
A: The Grain Dealer Law requires each licensed grain dealer to be audited at least once every year, but we try to audit each facility 2 or 3 times each year.
How much will my license cost?
A: A new applicant will be charged $150.00 for the first time licensing fee. An existing Grain Dealer merchandizer’s first time license fee is $250.00. All years thereafter will be based on the amount of your storage capacity. See Section IV of the Grain Dealer Regulations on Fees for more detail.
What other costs may we incur in the licensing process?
A: a. Fees for a Surety (Bond, CD or Letter of Credit)
b. A Financial Statement must be prepared by a CPA or RPA.
c. Printing Cost - Example: pre-numbered delivery tickets, pre-numbered contracts, and any other documents as required.
How is my surety (Bond, Letter of Credit, or CD) calculated?
A: Surety is based on the dollar amount of grain purchases in Arkansas, the grain dealer purchases each fiscal year. See Section III of the Grain Dealer Regulations for more details.