

Arkansas Agriculture Department

ARKANSAS FORESTRY COMMISSION Arkansas livestock & poultry commission Arkansas state plant board



1 NATURAL RESOURCES DRIVE, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72205 | (501) 225-1598 | AAD.ARKANSAS.GOV

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 4/13/2018 CONTACT: Adriane Barnes, (501) 516-6255, Adriane.barnes@agriculture.arkansas.gov

Agricultural Scholarships Presented to Four Arkansas Universities

STATEWIDE, ARK. – Governor Hutchinson and Arkansas Agriculture Secretary Wes Ward presented \$20,000 in scholarships at the State Capitol to students and representatives from four Arkansas universities with agricultural programs. The universities included: Arkansas State University, Southern Arkansas University, the University of Arkansas, and Arkansas Tech University.

"Agriculture is Arkansas's largest industry and we are delighted that each of you has chosen an agriculture focus for your future. We hope that each of you will stay in Arkansas and continue contributing to our state's agriculture industry as you build your careers and families," said Governor Hutchinson to scholarship recipients.

Scholarship recipients include the following students:

- Jessica Harston of Cotton Plant, Soil Conservation Major, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- Keion Fair of Pine Bluff, Plant Science Major, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- Kory Callaway of Magnolia, Agriculture Business Major, Southern Arkansas University
- Kaitlynn Heese of Kansas City (MO), Animal Science Major, Southern Arkansas University
- Bailey Darnell of Bismarck, Plant Science Major, Southern Arkansas University
- Tina Padgett of Greenbrier, Agriculture Education Major, Southern Arkansas University
- Gaby Sanders of Livingston (TX), Agriculture Education Major, Arkansas Tech University
- Brady McPherson of Piggott, Agriculture Business/ Horticulture Major, Arkansas Tech University
- Brenna Cannon of Mountain Home, Plant and Soil Science Major, Arkansas State University
- Sarah Becker of Bono, Plant and Soil Science Major, Arkansas State University

Funding for the scholarships comes from civil penalties collected by the Arkansas Agriculture Department's State Plant Board. Each institution has its own process for awarding scholarship funds to students and setting the amount each student receives for respective programs. Scholarships are awarded to universities annually, between March-April.

The AAD is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture and forestry to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit <u>www.aad.arkansas.gov</u>.

###

The Arkansas Agriculture Department offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.





