

Arkansas Agriculture Department

ARKANSAS FORESTRY COMMISSION **ARKANSAS LIVESTOCK & POULTRY COMMISSION** ARKANSAS STATE PLANT BOARD



GOVERNPOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 1140/2/2015 RIVE, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72205 | (501) 225-1598 | AAD.ARKANSAS.GOV Contact: Adriane Barnes, (501) 516-6255, adriane.barnes@arkansas.gov

UPDATE: PUBLIC HEARING TO BE HELD NOV 8, 9 A.M., EMBASSY SUITES, LITTLE ROCK Public Hearing for Proposed Dicamba Regulations Scheduled for November 8

LITTLE ROCK, AR – The Arkansas State Plant Board voted to approve regulatory changes for the application of products labeled for agricultural use that contain dicamba in Arkansas during their regularly scheduled quarterly meeting. Changes will prohibit the use in Arkansas between April 16 -Oct. 31. The regulations include exemptions for the use of dicamba in pastures, rangeland, turf, ornamental, direct injection for forestry, and home use. Approved regulations are closely aligned with recommendations from the Dicamba Task Force and the Plant Board's Pesticide Committee.

The Board's regulatory changes concerning the use of dicamba will now be subject to a 30 day public comment period which will be followed by a public hearing that will be held on November 8 at 9:00 a.m. at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Little Rock (11301 Financial Centre Parkway, Little Rock Arkansas 72211). Following the public comment and public hearing period, the final proposed rule will be forwarded to the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council for final rule approval.

The board also voted to approve a new regulation that establishes notice procedures for requesting additional research and for restricting products beyond EPA approval. This regulatory change will also be subject to a 30 day public comment period which will be followed by a public hearing to be held in conjunction with the Board's next quarterly meeting on December 12. Following the public hearing the final proposed rule will be forwarded to the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council for final rule approval.

The State Plant Board also held a public hearing to consider changes to Pesticide Enforcement Response Regulations in accordance with Act 778 of 2017 that increased the maximum civil penalty from \$1,000 to \$25,000 for egregious violations from applications of dicamba or an Auxin containing herbicide, or any new herbicide technology released after August 1, 2017. No public comments were received and the regulation will now be sent to the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council for final rule approval.

Other business before the Board included a review of the petition for rulemaking recently filed by Monsanto. The State Plant Board denied the petition by unanimous vote and will work with legal staff to prepare a response.

The proposed regulations and other dicamba information and updates can be found at: http://www.aad.arkansas.gov/arkansas-dicamba-information-updates.

*This update is an amendment to the release sent September 21 by the Arkansas Agriculture Department. See original release:

http://www.aad.arkansas.gov/Websites/aad/files/Content/5889602/Public Hearing for Proposed Dic amba Regulations Scheduled for November 8.pdf





