

## ${f A}$ rkansas ${f A}$ griculture ${f D}$ epartment

ARKANSAS FORESTRY COMMISSION ARKANSAS LIVESTOCK & POULTRY COMMISSION

ARKANSAS STATE PLANT BOARD

1 NATURAL RESOURCES DRIVE, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72205 | (501) 225-1598 | AAD.ARKANSAS.GOV



**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 7/25/2018** 

CONTACT: Adriane Barnes, (501) 516-6255, Adriane.barnes@agriculture.arkansas.gov

## Wildfire Suppression Kits Distributed to Volunteer Fire Departments through Rural Fire Program

LITTLE ROCK, AR. – The Rural Fire Program, managed by the Arkansas Agriculture Department's Forestry Commission (AFC), received \$200,000 from the United States Forest Service to purchase and distribute 67 Wildfire Suppression Kits to statewide volunteer fire departments in 2018. Kits include equipment and gear necessary for the safe suppression of wildfires and will be delivered to selected volunteer fire departments through October.

Volunteer fire departments are the primary partner to AFC crews in wildfire response and suppression but often need the specialized equipment and gear necessary for safe wildfire suppression. Since 2014, more than 230 volunteer fire departments have received Wildfire Suppression Kits through the Rural Fire Program. Kits distributed this year include lightweight wildfire-resistant personal protective equipment, hand rakes, back-pack water pumps, and leaf blowers.

Volunteer fire departments interested in participating in the Wildfire Suppression Kit program submit applications that are scored according to specific criteria including fire district population, the size of the response area, wildfire equipment response needs, and other factors. The application period for the 2019 Wildfire Protection Kit program starts in September. Contact Kathryn Mahan-Hooten at Kathryn.Mahan@agriculture.arkansas.gov and (501) 679-3183 with questions or to be added to the Rural Fire Program email distribution list.

Fire departments selected to receive kits in 2018 are listed below by fire department and county:

| Bald Knob/White           | Fouke/Miller             | Johnson County #6       | Pea Ridge/Pope                  |
|---------------------------|--------------------------|-------------------------|---------------------------------|
| Bayliss/Pope              | Garner/White             | Junction City/Union     | Pettigrew/Madison               |
| Berlin/Ashley             | Genoa/Miller             | Keo/Lonoke              | Ponca/Newton                    |
| Birdtown/Conway           | Gepp/Fulton              | Lake Norrell/Saline     | Rondo/Lee                       |
| Bismarck/Hot Springs      | Gilmore/Crittenden       | Langley/Pike            | Rose Bud/White                  |
| Black Fork/Scott          | Glenco/Fulton            | Lee County              | Saffell/Lawrence                |
| Boggy Creek/Miller        | Grange-Calamine/Lawrence | Leola/Grant             | Salesville/Baxter               |
| Bonnerdale/Hot Springs    | Halley/Desha             | Lodi/Pike               | Scotland/Van Buren              |
| Bruno/Marion              | Heafer/Crittenden        | Manila/Mississippi      | Sulpher-Laverna/Montgomery      |
| Carlisle/Lonoke           | Hilltop/Faulkner         | Mountain Springs/Lonoke | Spring Hill/Hempstead           |
| Cato/Faulkner             | Highfill/Benton          | New Deroche/Hot Springs | Sugarloaf-Slatonville/Sebastian |
| Cornerville/Lincoln       | Hindsville/Madison       | New Edinburg/Cleveland  | Swan Lake/Jefferson             |
| County Line/Bradley       | Holly Springs/Dallas     | Northside/Independence  | Wabbaseka/Jefferson             |
| Crawford County #4        | Horseshoe Bend/Izard     | Northwest Scott/Scott   | Trinity/Miller                  |
| Crawfordsville/Crittenden | Humnoke/Lonoke           | Oak Hill/Little River   | Yancy/Hempstead                 |
| Dover City/Pope           | Jacksonport/Jackson      | Ouachita Area/Dallas    | Yarborough/Little River         |
| Evening Shade/Sharp       | Johnson County #1        | Ozan Rural/Hempstead    |                                 |

The AAD is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture and forestry to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit www.agriculture.arkansas.gov





