Certificates of Veterinary Inspection (CVI)

The USDA provides that CVI (in accordance with 9 CFR 161) are valid only for thirty (30) days from issuance. Interstate CVI presented to the Arkansas Department of Agriculture <u>more than 30 days after</u> <u>inspection of the animal are no longer valid</u>. Since we must forward the CVI to the receiving state in order for them to receive the information in a timely fashion, please develop an internal office methodology in your clinic to make sure two copies of each paper CVI form are forwarded to the Arkansas State Veterinarian within 7 days of issuance.

Please, also remember that a U.S. Post Office box number is not an address where the animal would have been in contact with other animals. The address requirement is for traceback of contacts if a disease of concern is later detected. The nearest 911 address on the road to the paddock/pasture will work if necessary. A "GPS" reading at the major entrance to the property can often be taken using a Compass or Directions app on a cellphone and would be highly useful.

If you wish, you can scan the completed CVI into a .pdf and send via email to <u>CVIAR@agriculture.arkansas.gov</u>.

Alternatively, please seriously consider the use of electronic CVI services that automatically and immediately edit (correct or prompt correction), file, and send the CVI to the receiving state and make a record for you by simply clicking "Send." Arkansas does not currently offer a state based electronic CVI option at this time; several candidates are in development by national concerns and slated for review by a "task-force" committee of State Veterinarians.

Paper CVI blanks can be ordered by calling Kory Jones at 501.225.1598 (ADA-Livestock and Poultry Division Central Supply). If not available, please leave a message with a phone number and he can return your call. Some notable revisions to the CVI format are the addition of blanks for email/phone contact information for the Consignor, Consignee and Accredited Veterinarian on the CVI. Please record a working phone number in the "E-mail" space <u>if the client/Consignor does not have an e-mail address</u>. If the Consignee does not have e-mail, insert THEIR phone where indicated. Same for Accredited Veterinarian (please also BE SURE TO ADD the six digit NVAP number for the signing veterinarian). Again, <u>CVIAR@Arkansas.gov</u> is the electronic submission (e-mail address) to send completed and scanned paper copies of CVI to the Arkansas Department of Agriculture.

9 CFR 161.4 describes responsibilities of an Accredited Veterinarian: <u>9 CFR § 161.4 - Standards for</u> <u>accredited veterinarian duties.</u> | CFR | US Law | LII / Legal Information Institute (cornell.edu) provides a citation of the pertinent CFR section.