

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

September 5, 2023

THE HONORABLE SARAH HUCKABEE SANDERS Governor State of Arkansas State Capitol 500 Woodlane Street, Room 250 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Dear Governor Sanders:

On July 26, 2023, the Arkansas State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for seven counties in Arkansas due to losses caused by excessive rain, hail, high winds, lightning, and tornadoes that occurred during June 7 through July 14, 2023.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating all seven Arkansas counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

DISASTER DESIGNATION AREAS FOR ARKANSAS AND CONTIGUOUS STATES

Primary Counties:

Arkansas	(7)		
Ashley	Mississippi	Pope	Stone
Conway	Monroe	Prairie	

Contiguous Counties:

Arkansas	(26)		
Arkansas	Drew	Lonoke	Searcy
Baxter	Faulkner	Newton	Union
Bradley	Independence	Perry	Van Buren
Chicot	Izard	Phillips	White
Cleburne	Johnson	Poinsett	Woodruff
Craighead	Lee	St. Francis	Yell
Crittenden	Logan		

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Louisiana Morehouse	(2) Union		
Missouri Dunklin	(2) Pemiscot		
Tennessee Dyer	(4) Lauderdale	Shelby	Tipton