

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

1 Natural Resources Drive, Little Rock, AR 72205 agriculture.arkansas.gov (501) 225-1598



Sarah Huckabee Sanders Governor

> Arkansas Department of Agriculture FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 6/30/2023 CONTACT: Ayden Massey (501) 813-6012 ayden.massey@agriculture.arkansas.gov

Arkansas Volunteer Fire Departments Receive Wildland Fire Suppression Kits from Arkansas Department of Agriculture's Forestry Division

LITTLE ROCK, AR – The Rural Fire Protection Program (RFP), managed by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture's Forestry Division (Forestry Division), is awarding 91 wildland fire suppression kits to rural fire departments across 46 counties in Arkansas. The RFP received \$315,221.13 through the Volunteer Fire Assistance Grant from the United States Forest Service to purchase the kits.

Volunteer fire departments are the primary partner to Forestry Division crews in wildfire response and suppression, but they are often in need of specialized equipment and gear necessary for safe wildfire suppression. Since 2014, more than 670 wildland fire suppression kits have been distributed to volunteer fire departments throughout the state. The necessary equipment and gear in the kits include lightweight wildfire-resistant coveralls, wildland gloves, rakes, backpack water pumps, and leaf blowers.

Fire departments receiving kits in 2023 are listed below by fire department and county:

- DeWitt (Arkansas)
- Fountain Hill (Ashley)
- Unity-Frost Prairie (Ashley)
- Cave Springs (Benton)
- Gallatin (Benton)
- Alpena (Boone)
- Bergman (Boone)
- Zinc (Boone)
- Sumpter (Bradley)
- Warren (Bradley)
- Chambersville (Calhoun)
- Harrell (Calhoun)
- Eureka Springs (Carroll)
- Oak Grove (Carroll)
- DeGray (Clark)
- Highway 35 South (Cleveland)
- 4 Communities (Columbia)
- McNeil (Columbia)
- District 3 (Crawford)
- District 1 (Crawford)
- Dumas (Desha)
- Kelso-Rohwer (Desha)
- Centerville (Faulkner)
- Mayflower (Faulkner)

- Enola (Faulkner)
- Greenbrier (Faulkner)
- Pine Village (Faulkner)
- Branch (Franklin)
- Charleston (Franklin)
- Glencoe (Fulton)
- Morriston (Fulton)
- Lake Hamilton (Garland)
- Calvert Township (Grant)
- Poyen (Grant)
- Sheridan (Grant)
- Bingen (Hempstead)
- DeAnn (Hempstead)
- Guernsey (Hempstead)
- New DeRoche (Hot Spring)
- Tuckerman (Jackson)
- Hardin (Jefferson)
- Redfield (Jefferson)
- Watson Chapel (Jefferson)
- Department 2 (Johnson)
- Alicia (Lawrence)
- Black Rock (Lawrence)
- Southeast (Lincoln)
- Cerro Gordo (Little River)

- Foreman (Little River)
- Sugar Grove (Logan)
- Coy (Lonoke)
- South Bend 10 (Lonoke)
- Ward (Lonoke)
- Forum Alabam (Madison)
- Huntsville (Madison)
- Oakland-Promiseland (Marion)
- Pyatt (Marion)
- Ralph-Caney (Marion)
- Boggy Creek (Miller)
- Mandeville (Miller)
- Caddo Gap (Montgomery)
- Norman (Montgomery)
- Southfork (Montgomery)
- Fairhills (Nevada)
- Elliott (Ouachita)
- Central (Poinsett)
- Marked Tree (Poinsett)
- Cherry Hill (Polk)
- Grannis (Polk)

- Shady Grove (Polk)
- Moreland (Pope)
- North Pulaski (Pulaski)
- Oak Grove (Pulaski)
- Collegeville (Saline)
- Paron (Saline)
- Traskwood (Saline)
- Waldron (Scott)
- PG&S (Searcy)
- EMP (Sebastian)
- Wheatley (St. Francis)
- Timbo (Stone)
- Calion (Union)
- Parkers Chapel (Union)
- Three Creeks (Union)
- Lincoln (Washington)
- Albion (White)
- El Paso (White)
- Floyd-Romance (White)
- Judsonia (White)
- Kensett (White)
- Velvet Ridge (White)

Volunteer fire departments interested in participating in the program must submit an application to the RFP. The applications are scored according to specific criteria including fire district population, the size of the response area, wildfire equipment response needs, and other factors. The next application period is expected to begin in August 2023.

Fire departments should receive an application by mail, or they can be found at <u>agriculture.arkansas.gov/</u><u>forestry/rural-fire-protection-program/</u> when the application period opens. For more information, fire departments should contact Kathryn Mahan-Hooten, RFP administrator, at <u>kathryn.mahan@agriculture.</u> <u>arkansas.gov</u> or (501) 679-3183.

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture, forestry, and natural resources to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while conserving natural resources and ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit<u>agriculture.arkansas.gov/</u>. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.