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         Water Well Construction  
Arkansas Department of Agriculture 

Natural Resources Division 
10421 W Markham Street 

Little Rock, AR 72205 
 

Information for Pump Installer Registration 
 
An applicant for an A rkansas Water Well Pump Installer Registration Certificate 
must submit the following: 
 

1.  Proof of age.  An applicant must submit a driver’s license or other documentation illustrating that he 
is at least 18 years old. 

 
2.  Completed application form and $125 registration fee. 
 
3.  Proof of experience.  Before an applicant is eligible to take any of the pump installer certification 

tests, the applicant must demonstrate proof of experience by meeting the requirements listed under either A, B, 
or C, below:  

 
A. Applicant has completed the Commission’s Pump Installer Apprenticeship Program by 

either: 
 

1. Completing two years of the Commission’s Pump Installer program and providing a 
letter from the apprentice’s supervisor stating that the apprentice is ready to sit for 
examination; or 

2. Applicant has completed three years of the Commission’s Pump Installer 
Apprenticeship Program and has IRS W2 Wage and Tax Statement Forms 
demonstrating three years of employment under a licensed water well contractor. 

 
 

B.  Applicant holds or has held in the past a v alid Arkansas Water Well Pump Installer 
Certificate of Registration and meets the qualifications listed in the Apprenticeship Program Exemption 
set out in Rule 3.10.10 of the Arkansas Water Well Construction Rules and Regulations;  

 
C.  Applicant holds or has held a registration from another state similar to the type and class for 

which the person is applying, and the other state’s program must be at least as r igorous as t he 
Commission’s Apprenticeship Program.   

 
 
         Review of application 

The Commission will consider applications at its bi-monthly meetings. The Commission may delay 
consideration of applications received less than two weeks before a scheduled Commission meeting 
until the next meeting.   
 

 The Commission will send Applicant notice that it has reviewed his application and whether it has 
approved him for testing.   
 
Examinations 

Once approved, the Commission will contact the Applicant to set up a test date.  All exams will be 
given at the Commission’s offices at 10421 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205.  
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The exam will cover the Arkansas Water Well Construction Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-50-101 et seq; 
Water Well Construction Rules and Regulations; and general knowledge of pump installation.  Questions are 
multiple choice, true and false, and fill in the blank. There will be 50 questions and a passing score is 70% or 
more.  Commission staff will grade the exam and review missed questions with Applicants on the day of the 
exam.    

If an applicant fails an exam, the exam can be retaken on another day.  Applicants who fail the exam 
must file a new application if the exam is not passed within 120 days after the Commission meeting at which the 
Applicant was originally approved to take the test. 
 
Payment of Registration Fee 

Prior to taking the exam, the applicant must pay a $125 registration fee. The Commission will consider 
the applicant certified upon passage of the exam or exams and payment of the $125 registration fee. 
 

 
****************************************************************************************** 
 
NOTE:  To legally install water well pumps within Arkansas, a registered pump installer must either hold 

an Arkansas Water Well Contractor Drilling and Pump Systems License or an Arkansas Water 
Well Contractor Pump Systems License or be employed by someone who holds such a license. 
 
 

****************************************************************************************** 
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Arkansas Water Well Pump Installer 

Registration Application 

Incomplete or inaccurate information will delay processing of your application.  For yes or no responses, circle the correct 
answer.  Social Security Numbers will not be released to the public.  An applicant must sign and notarize his application.    
 
 

 
Full name: (First name, middle initial, last name) 
 
 

 
Social security number: 

 
 
Street address: 

 
 
Mailing address: (If not same as street address) 

 
City: 

 
County: 

 
State: 
 
Zip: 

 
Home phone number:  (        ) 
 
Work phone number:  (        ) 

Date of birth 
(mm/dd/yy) 
 

Height: Weight: Hair color: Eye color 

 
Sex: 
  Male      Female  

 
Ever convicted of a 
felony?  Yes    No 

 
US citizen? 
        Yes       No 

 
Resident of AR? 
        Yes      No 
 
 

Circle highest grade completed:   1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Degrees: 
 
If you obtained a GED circle 12. 
 
 
Number of years of experience in water well construction: 
 
 
Have you ever had an Arkansas Water Well Registration Certificate or License revoked?             Yes              No 
 
 
Employed by: (Name of business) 

 
Contractor number: 

 
 
Business street address: 

 
City: 

 
State: 

 
County: 

 
Zip: 
 
 

 
 

For NRD use only 

 
Amount 

 
Receipt # 

 
Issue Date 

 
Reg. # D 
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If you hold any water well pump installer registration certificates from other states, please list other states and 
applicable registration information.  Also, list any professional licenses or credentials you hold (i.e. Professional 
Geologist or Master Plumber, etc.) 
 
 
 

       
 
 

Please check the box to the left of letter A, B, C, or D below to indicate which experience 
requirements you believe you meet and the types of information submitted by you.    
 
____A.  Applicant has completed two years of the Commission’s pump installer apprenticeship program; and 
has a letter from the apprentice’s supervisor stating that the apprentice is ready to sit for examination. 
 
____B.  Applicant has completed three years of the Commission’s pump installer apprenticeship program and 
has IRS W2 Wage and Tax Statement Forms demonstrating three years of employment under a licensed water 
well contractor. 
 
____C.  A pplicant holds or has held in the past a valid Arkansas Water Well Pump Installer Registration 
Certificate and meets the qualifications listed in the Apprenticeship Program Exemption set out in Rule 3.10.10 
of the Arkansas Water Well Construction Rules and Regulations.  
 
____D.  Applicant holds or has held a registration from another state similar to the type and class for which the 
person is applying and has held this registration for a period equivalent to the apprenticeship program. 

 
 

I hereby certify that the information remitted on this application and provided by me is true and 
correct; that I have knowledge of the Water Well Construction Act and regulations pertaining to water 
well construction; and that I have the level of experience I have indicated. 
 
 
Witness:________________________________  Signed:___________________________________ 
 
THIS FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED 

 
State of _____________________________ 
 
County of ___________________________ 
 

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ 
 
day of ____________________, 20_________ 
 

 
My Commission expires: _______________ 
 

Signed: 
 
 

 



CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECKS WITH ARKANSAS STATE POLICE 

Applying for a license or registration for a new (anyone who is not currently licensed) Driller, Pump 

Installer, or Apprentice with the Arkansas Natural Resources Division (NRD) requires a criminal history 

background check from the Arkansas State Police (ASP). All license signing authorities are required to 

submit a criminal history background check.  

Attached with this application is the consent form for the background check. Please fill in the form 

(please print), then sign, date, and have it notarized. It MUST be signed by you, the applicant, and 

notarized. Return it with this application. The information will be released to the Arkansas Natural 

Resources Division as listed on the bottom of this form.  

 

Note: The entire criminal history background check process can take up to two weeks before NRD staff 

receives final results.  



ARKANSAS STATE POLICE AsP-129 (Eff, 08/11/2021) 

Identification Bureau 
Individual Record Check Request Form 

  

Please mark the box if this background check is for U.S. VISA purposes only and requires an Apostille Letter |__| 

Full Name: 
  

Last name First name Middle name Jr/Sr /TM 

  
Daytime Phone #: { ) 

List ALL other names ever used (married, maiden, shortened, etc) 

  
  

  
  

  

  

Date of Birth: State of Birth: Race: Sex: 
: (Month/Day/Year) 

Social Security #: Driver’s License #: 
, State 

Physical Address: 
Street 

City State ZIP 

Mailing Address: 
  

Street or P.O. Box 

  

City State ZIP 

APPLICANT RECORD NOTIFICATION 

Change, Correction, or Updating: Procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI criminal history 

record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34 and/or Arkansas Code § 12-12-1013, 

I give my consent for the Arkansas State Police to conduct a criminal record search on myself and release 
any results to the following person or entity: 

  

  

  

Signature: Date: 

(First/MI/Last Name) Month/Day/Year 

Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission 
Release to: _ 

(First/MI/Last Name) or Full Name of Agency 

a Cone Building 1, 10421 West Markham 
Mailing Address: 

Street 
Little Rock AR 72205 

  

City State ZIP 

Daytime Phone #: ( 501) 682-3900 

nm 82005 State Record Check
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