Serving the citizens of Arkansas and the agricultural and business communities by providing information and unbiased enforcement of laws and regulations set by the Arkansas State Plant Board
Private Applicator License
Private Applicator's Restricted Use Pesticide License
The following section explains the steps required to obtain and maintain a Private Applicator’s Restricted Use Pesticide License.
Who qualifies for a Private Applicator’s Restricted Use Pesticide License?
A “Private Applicator” is a certified applicator who uses or supervises the use of restricted use pesticides for purpose of producing any agricultural commodity on property owned or rented by him or his employer. For Example: Farmers/Ranchers/Growers.
The following is required to obtain a Private Applicator’s Restricted Use Pesticide License:
You must obtain certification/recertification by attending a Private Applicator Training conducted only by the County Extension Agents, online recertification, or take the Private Applicator Exam administered by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture Office located in Little Rock.
- Private Applicator Training is usually conducted in the fall and winter each year. Contact a County Extension Office for more information on these meetings or visit the UAEX website.
- Recertification can be obtained through the Private Applicator Recertification Online Training. Visit the UAEX website. Note: The online recertification is only acceptable for recertification purposes, not for first time certification, and is only accepted for Private Applicators.
- The Private Applicator Exams are conducted on scheduled testing dates in Little Rock. Preregistration for testing is required. To complete the Preregistration Form for testing, click here.
New Technology Training requirements:
If planning to apply Enlist One and/or Enlist Duo – premix of glyphosate and 2,4-D Choline, be advised those products shall not be applied without Commercial, Non-Commercial, and Private Applicators first completing the New Technology Certification training. The New Technology Certification training must be obtained through the Cooperative Extension Service, visit the UAEX website for more information.
- If planning to apply Engenia or Xtendimax, be advised these products shall not be applied without Commercial, Non-Commercial, and Private Applicators first completing Dicamba specific training, for further information please click here.
- Proof of training must be provided upon request.
You must submit the Application Form DP-25 for a Private Applicator License with the appropriate fee ($10 for a one-year or $45 for a five-year). To obtain an application form, click here.
The Pesticide Section will process your application for a license. Note: Applications must be filled out completely. Failure to include the required information will result in delays of the license issuance.
The license, once issued, will expire on the last day of the month one (1) or five (5) years from the issuance date.
Important Information Regarding Certification/Recertification:
- Keep your certification/recertification and license current. Remember that certification/recertification refers to the required training sessions conducted by the County Extension Agents.
- The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires that private applicators must be recertified at least every five (5) years.
- Your certification/recertification will expire on the last day of the month five (5) years from the latest Private Applicator Training Session date you attended.
- To be eligible for a one year Private Applicator’s Restricted Use Pesticide License, you must have been certified/recertified within the past forty-eight (48) months.
- To be eligible for a five year Private Applicator’s Restricted Use Pesticide License, you must have been certified/recertified within the past twelve (12) months, without previously having a license on that certification.
Important Information Regarding Licensing:
- To keep your license current, you must complete and submit an Application Form DP-25 for a Private Applicator’s License along with the appropriate fee prior to your license expiration date (indicated on the front of your license card).
- Renewal notices are sent to all current Private Applicators the month prior to their license expiration date.
For Restricted Use Pesticide Dealers:
If you are a licensed Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer and desire a login to look up currently licensed Private Applicators, please complete and submit the form Dealer Website Access for Private Applicator License Lookup.